Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 22, 2022

The Honorable Antony Blinken U.S. Department of State 2201 C Street NW Washington, DC 20520

Dear Secretary Blinken:

We write you today with grave concerns regarding the ongoing nuclear discussions with Iran and their potential impacts on our partner nations around the world. Specifically, we are deeply concerned about reports that the Biden Administration intends to remove the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) as a Foreign Terrorist Organization (FTO) within the confines of a new Iran Nuclear Deal. We are united in strong opposition to any move to legitimize the IRGC's reckless, destabilizing, and antisemitic actions throughout the Middle East.

The IRGC continues to actively participate in acts of terror and destabilizing actions in the region—particularly against one of our closest allies, Israel. It is also a chief supporter and enabler of other FTOs and insurgent groups in the region. These organizations include, but are not limited to: Hezbollah, Hamas, Palestinian Islamic Jihad, and the Houthi insurgency. The IRGC's actions have led to decades of instability and conflict across the Middle East and the group is responsible for countless deaths, including more than 600 U.S. troops during the occupation of Iraq.

It is critical that we stand by our allies and partner nations and ensure that the IRGC is not given the benefit of removal of sanctions by delisting them as a FTO. This would reward them with greater freedom to increase their malign activities. Additionally, delisting the IRGC as a FTO would significantly bolster their financial resources. Many foreign companies abstain from conducting transactions with the IRGC to gain access to the U.S. market, but would no longer be subject to such restrictions.

Iran is the leading state sponsor of terror and continues to be the greatest threat to regional stability and our ally Israel. It is unconscionable that the United States should fail to exert maximum pressure on an evil and malign organization like the IRGC. We strongly urge against any decision that would legitimize the IRGC and allow them to further threaten democracy & freedom around the world.

Sincerely,

C. Scott Franklin

Member of Congress

Elise Stefanik

Member of Congress

Jin Banks
Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn
Member of Congress

Bob Gibbs Member of Congress

Madison Cauthon
Madison Cawthorn
Member of Congress

Vern Buchanan Member of Congress

Ted Budd Member of Congress

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

Tom McClintock Member of Congress

Michael Waltz
Member of Congress

Scott Fitzgerald

Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw

Member of Congress

Kevin Hern Member of Congress

Brian K. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

Maria Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler Member of Congress

Rodney Davis Member of Congress

Chip Roy

Member of Congress

David P. Joyce

Member of Congress

Billy Long

Member of Congress

and X. Wila Randy Weber

Member of Congress

Doc 5 Robert B. Aderholt

Member of Congress

Nancy Mace

Member of Congress

Lee Zeldin

Member of Congress

Jody Hice

Member of Congress

August Pfluger Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

Mike Garcia

Member of Congress

Trent Kelly

Member of Congress

Andrew Clyde

Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde

n Cline

Ben Cline

Member of Congress

Darrell Issa

Member of Congress

Ralph Norman

Member of Congress

Vette Herrell

Member of Congress

Glenn Grothman

Member of Congress

Jake Ellzey

Member of Congress

Gus M. Bilirakis

Member of Congress

Ann Wagner

Member of Congress

auld Kusto

David Kustoff

Member of Congress

David McKinley

Member of Congress

mul B. MIL

Im Jordan Member Congress

Steven Palazzo Member of Congress

Barry Moore

Member of Congress

Jeff Duncan

Member of Congress

Jackie Walveski

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Andy Barr

Member of Congress

Bill Posey

Member of Congress

Andrew Garbarino Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Michelle Steel
Member of Congress

Charles "Chuck" Fleischmann
Member of Congress

Rob Wittman

Member of Congress

Steve Chabot Member of Congress

Beth Van Duyne Member of Congress

William R. Timmons, IV
Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks
Member of Congress

Ronny Jackson Member of Congress

Lance Gooden
Member of Congress

Troy Balderson

Member of Congress

Jodey C. Arrington

Member of Congress

Julia Letlow
Member of Congress

Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga

Member of Congress

Neal Dunn Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

John R. Moolenaar Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Rick W. Allen Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

05 Wilson

By Stut

Brian Steil

Member of Congress

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

David Schweikert Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Tim Burchett Member of Congress

Morgan H. Griffith Member of Congress

Chris Stewart Member of Congress

and I

Don Bacon Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Lisa McClain Member of Congress

is C Miclain

Mike Carey Member of Congress

Eric A. "Rick" Crawford Member of Congress

____/S/___

Troy Nehls
Member of Congress

Hale M.D.

Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress

Adrian Smith

Member of Congress